Blogs, Review Sites, and Online Publications
Date Publication

 Notes

10.25.2009 Romance at your Fingertips  

Todd Fonseca’s The Time Cavern is a book that has retained all the wonder and charm of the novels of my youth...Well written, wholesome and enchanting. A recommended read for those up and coming adventurers in the family!

10.25.2009  All Chilren's Books
The Mystery began a hundred years ago. It was never solved. Now it's happening again.
 08.24.2008   The Compulsive Reader
The Time Cavern is a great adventure for younger readers, with a unique setting that is at once interesting and educational.
05.28.2008 The LL Book Review
Fonseca has a talent for appealing to a young audience in the use of his subject matter….independence, moving to a new home, making friends, being afraid, exploration, and the use of the imagination, etc. Outside of the young boy’s adventures the author also uses a nice mix of dialog to keep his story moving, evenly exposing the reader to other characters including Aaron’s parents.
 Unknown   SlideShare
"The author has gone to such great care to weave this tale with just the right amount of suspense as to keep the reader glued to the book. "

The Time Cavern Rated Review Sites
# Date Source

 Review

Summary of major review sites  (80 ratings - 4.7 out of 5)
   Amazon  - 4.7

46
 - All Reviews
37 - 5 star
  7 - 4-star
  1 - 3-star 
  0 - 2-star
  1 - 1-star
GoodReads - 4.8

 34 - All Reviews
 29 - 5-star 
   3 - 4-star 
   1 - 3-star 
   1 - 2-star
   0 - 1-star
63 12.21.2009
GoodReads
Trevor Williams
The time Cavern was awesome. I read it quickly but enjoyed it a lot. I am really looking forward to the sequel. I like stories that have adventure and good characters. I will recommend this book to my friends.
62 12.21.2009
Amazon.com
TW
CA, USA
Cool Book!
The time Cavern was awesome. I read it quickly but enjoyed it a lot. I am really looking forward to the sequel. I like stories that have adventure and good characters. I will recommend this book to my friends.
61 12.14.2009
Amazon.com
Tamela Quijas
TX, USA
Delighfully charming read
Todd Fonseca's The Time Cavern is a book that has retained all the wonder and charm of the novels of my youth. Our 10 year old hero, Aaron, is a fascinating character that exudes with this youthfulness that is believable and charming.
60 11.09.2009
GoodReads
Tamela Quijas
TX, USA
Not overly complicated, The Time Cavern was something my 8 year old enjoyed reading to me. He gushed about the story line and how 'cool' it was to be Aaron. Mr. Fonseca's ease in storytelling drew my son into the vividness of the story and enable him to describe to me the wonder that he felt and imagined. The tale reminded me of The Hardy Boys, The Alfred Hitchcock Solve-Them-Yourself Mysteries, and Encyclopedia Brown genres. Well written, wholesome and enchanting. A recommended read for those up and coming adventurers in the family!
59 11.03.2009
GoodReads

Brett Wiliams
I bought this book for my 13 year old. He is an avid reader. He devoured the book quickly and is now waiting eagerly for the sequel. I love books like this that engage my kid and get them to participate in conversations about literature.
58 11.09.2009
GoodReads

Eric Knapp
The Time Cavern is a concise, well-written, and endearing story. It's highly suitable for young adult readers: it was mature and clever, yet not overly complex. As an adult, I also enjoyed the book quite a bit -- it reminded me of the Encyclopedia Brown books I used to read when I was a kid, where the hero won the day through intellect and keen observation.
57 10.29.2009
Amazon
Author D. B. Pacini CA, USA

Stimulates and Captivates
This book was clearly written with one intelligent boy in mind, the author's son. Fascinating that particular boy, and inspiring him to turn each page, was the goal. Fonseca is terrifically successful, he compels us all to keep turning the pages until the conclusion of this spectacular tale where what we hope will happen does, but with an unexpected twist. THE TIME CAVERN will stimulate and captivate the imagination of young readers, girls and boys alike. I urge parents and teachers to add this book to their libraries.

56 10.27.2009
Amazon
Gary Val Tenuta

Took Me Back To The Days Of The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew
Not only will young readers find themselves engrossed in a great mystery/adventure but Fonseca has seen to it that they will learn a lot along the way. The cool thing is how Fonseca manages to blend the "educational" elements of the story so seamlessly into the plot that it doesn't interrupt the flow of the tale being told. Young readers will be introduced to the way people of other cultures think and live and they'll also get some lessons in basic chemistry and astronomy to boot.

55 10.27.2009


Amazon
Glen G. Thater
NY, USA

excellent!
An excellent children's book. The author not only presents an interesting adventure tale, but also fills it with timeless lessons. Solid writing; good characters. I recommend it.

54 10.27.2009
Amazon
Dee Marie, NY

Wisdom and Eternal Youth Collide
I was pleasantly surprised to find "The Time Cavern" overflowing with factoids involving astronomy, science, history, religious acceptance, and family tolerance...all intertwined into an intriguing tale of mystery, discovery and suspense.

53 10.26.2009
Amazon
L.C. Evans
NC, USA

Todd Fonseca's The Time Cavern is an enjoyable read for adults as well as for children..This was a fun book to read, and I thoroughly enjoyed the believable characters and the well-done descriptions of the setting.

52 10.26.2009
Amazon
Roy Pickering,
NJ, USA

A delight for youngsters in formative reading years
 This book transported me back in time to when I was an avid 10-year old reader...The Time Cavern showcases masterful storytelling that will immediately be passed forward to one of my nephews. I highly recommend picking up a copy for the young explorers that you love.

51 10.25.2009


Amazon
Carole A. Sutton
Australia

Lose yourself in this fantastic adventure
It is a long time since I have read a book written specifically for children. I started this one with caution expecting it to be juvenile and perhaps a bit boring. Not a bit of it! I thoroughly enjoyed it...
Aaron and Jake's colourful adventure in opening up the secrets of the hidden cavern held plenty suspense and surprise, and the ending, though satisfying, made me wonder if there was more to come. Truly, a good read. The Time Cavern would make a great Christmas present, or a stocking filler for any youngster you know.

50 10.25.2009


Amazon
Kristin M. Petersen
Heber City, UT

The Adventure I always dreamt of as a child!
The author Todd Fonseca has crafted a story that keeps the reader up into the night to see what happens in the next chapter. I can honestly say I could relate to every character in the book as they were so real and identifiable...I adore this book and am recommending it to all of my friends, my coworkers, neighbors and facebook freinds! Great story! Can't wait to see what the author writes next.

49 10.25.2009


Amazon
Rai Aren
Canada

I just loved this story
The Time Cavern is a wonderful adventure story that allows the reader to really feel for and identify with the characters. I can certainly remember what it was like to be that age, eager to explore, my mind rife with imagination. The mystery of The Time Cavern is clever, well-thought out, nicely researched in its details, and leaves me wanting more. I would love to read more of this story, so I hope a sequel will be forthcoming. Very well-written & highly recommended to readers of all ages!

48 10.25.2009


Amazon
R. M. Smith
Alexandria, VA

Where Exactly is That Tree?
The two main characters are likable and I also liked the idea of involving the Amish in the story. I thought this worked well with linking the present with the past as well as creating a variation of perspective from a unique way of life...The "Time Cavern" is an adventure mixed with riddle-solving scenarios that many kids of this age group will find appealing.

47 10.25.2009


Amazon
Sandy Nathan
CA, USA

Charming is the only word I can think of to describe this book. The Amish element, the two cute kids, their families, the old barn, and, of course, what they discover in the woods is a compelling blend. I'm looking forward to the sequel.

46 10.25.2009


Amazon
J.R. Reardon
Washington, D.C.

A Thrilling Read!!
Todd A. Fonseca's "The Time Cavern" is a fantastic read for children and adults alike. Todd has a knack for making the characters realistic and likeable, whether they be Aaron's parents or the main characters, 10 year old friends Aaron and Jake. I laughed many times while reading the book at the way Todd skillfully phrased certain things.

45 10.25.2009


Amazon
Lee Murphy
Reseda, CA

Really good!
I have to say I am really impressed. It is primarily a young adult novel, but quite clever and very imaginative. I am not going to give any spoilers, but I definitely recommend this fun book to anyone who might be curious, young adult, or plain old adult.

44 10.25.2009
Amazon
Yale R. Jaffe
Darien, IL

Hardy Boys Meet Indiana Jones
The Time Cavern weaves a wonderful tale, which will unlock the imagination teenagers and adults alike. If this book existed when my sons were young teenagers, we would have read The Time Cavern together. Parents and teachers can take this book in many directions. But here's my hope: This book is ripe for developing into a television series - Mr. Fonseca has simply scratched the surface. The novel leaves endless possibilities and more questions to be asked and solved. Disney Channel, are you listening? The Time Cavern was marvelously fun!

43 10.25.2009
GoodReads

Robin

One word comes to mind after reading Todd Fonseca's Time Cavern...charming. It is a wholesome fun tale with a lot of heart. While I love YA books, the audience of this book is a bit younger than I'm used to. The main character is 10-years old. I thought this might make the book a bit boring for a 40-something but on the contrary. I was engrossed. This book reminds me of Scooby-Do and the Hardy boys and I love the way Todd weaves the life lessons and science lessons seemlessly in his book without dragging down the story...in fact they enhance the story. If you have a nephew, niece, grand child, of child of your own in the 8 - 12 age group ... Get this for them for Christmas - trust me you'll thank me!

42 10.17.2009
GoodReads
Sandra
I'm not a sci-fi buff, but this is a great read for both kids and adults.
41 08.23.2009


GoodReads
Melissa

Excellent children's fiction book. One could say science fiction because it did involve time travel, but it was so much more than that. The way the author wove together the different aspects of the book was superbly done, and the ending was completely satisfying.

40 07.01.2009
Amazon
Kristin M. Petersen
Herber City, UT

The Adventure I always dreamt of as a child.
The author Todd Fonseca has crafted a story that keeps the reader up into the night to see what happens in the next chapter. I can honestly say I could relate to every character in the book as they were so real and identifiable. I adore this book and am recommending it to all of my friends, my coworkers, neighbors and facebook freinds! Great story! Can't wait to see what the author writes next.

39 06.18.2009


Amazon
D.B. Pacini
California

Stimulates and Captivates
When the heart of a father and the mind of a talented writer join forces to create a story that will hold the interest of an inquisitive son, other young people fortunate enough to read the book will benefit. In many books I have favorite sentences underlined. In THE TIME CAVERN by Todd Fonseca I've marked full passages.

38 06.17.2009
Amazon
Debra Purdy
Port Moody, BC
Excellent Blend of Mystery and Fantasy
The Time Cavern is a well-written story blending mystery and fantasy in an Amish setting. Author, Todd Fonseca, provides a welcome balance of narrative description and dialogue which provides readers with a strong sense of place and great character development. Both Jake and Aaron are quite articulate for their age, but it's necessary in this story because the mystery solving requires intelligence and resourcefulness, not to mention bravery.
37 06.09.2009
Amazon
Roy Pickering
New Jersey
A delight for youngsters in formative reading years
Fonseca cleverly intertwines the following of time honored traditions with science fiction elements to generate an enthralling plot that is sure to lure any young reader away from his wii game system.
36 06.08.2009
GoodReads
Debra
The Time Cavern is a well-written story blending mystery and fantasy in an Amish setting. Author, Todd Fonseca, provides a welcome balance of narrative description and dialogue which provides readers with a strong sense of place and great character development. Both Jake and Aaron are quite articulate for their age, but it’s necessary in this story because the mystery solving requires intelligence and resourcefulness, not to mention bravery.
35 05.16.2009
GoodReads
D.B. Pacini

Fonseca is so terrifically successful that he compels us all to keep turning the pages until the conclusion of this spectacular tale where what we hope will happen does, but with an unexpected twist. THE TIME CAVERN will stimulate and captivate the imagination of young readers, girls and boys alike. I urge parents and teachers to add this book to their libraries.

34 04.12.2009
Amazon
Joseph Perrone
The Time Cavern Rocks
Wow! What a terrific book - especially for young adult readers. What more could you ask for? Mystery, time travel, history - all rolled into one hell of a yarn. This is what reading used to be all about for young people. And it's not too shabby a read for adults either. I highly recommend it.
33 04.01.2009
Amazon
Rai Aren
Canada
I just loved this story
The Time Cavern is a wonderful adventure story that allows the reader to really feel for and identify with the characters. I can certainly remember what it was like to be that age, eager to explore, my mind rife with imagination. The mystery of The Time Cavern is clever, well-thought out, nicely researched in its details, and leaves me wanting more. I would love to read more of this story, so I hope a sequel will be forthcoming. Very well-written & highly recommended to readers of all ages!
32 03.30.2009
Amazon
R.M. Smith
Alexandria, VA

Where exactly is that tree?
The two main characters are likable and I also liked the idea of involving the Amish in the story. I thought this worked well with linking the present with the past as well as creating a variation of perspective from a unique way of life. Perhaps we'll see more of this in another installment?
The "Time Cavern" is an adventure mixed with riddle-solving scenarios that many kids of this age group will find appealing.

31 03.24.2009
GoodReads
Rai

I just loved this story. I know that this is a book recommended for 9-12 year olds, I’m an adult, and I thoroughly enjoyed every page of this story. The plot of The Time Cavern is very engaging and had me rapidly turning pages eager to get to the core of the mystery presented. The mystery of The Time Cavern is clever, well-thought out, nicely researched in its details, and leaves me wanting more. I would love to read more of this story, so I hope a sequel will be forthcoming. Very well-written & highly recommended to readers of all ages!

30 03.16.2009
GoodReads
Roy
Fonseca cleverly intertwines the following of time honored traditions with science fiction elements to generate an enthralling plot that is sure to lure any young reader away from his wii game system. As this book shows, kids today may be considerably different than kids of even just one generation prior, but what kids of all generations and all ages have always been drawn to is the opportunity to embark on a thrilling adventure. The Time Cavern showcases masterful storytelling that will immediately be passed forward to one of my nephews. I highly recommend picking up a copy for the young explorers that you love.
29 03.15.2009
GoodReads
Shirley

 Those adults enamored with the old television show "The Twilight Zone" of years past will be delighted to place Todd Fonseca's "The Time Cavern" into a young person's hands. Fonseca combines science with a brilliant imagination to connect with the young as well as the older reader. Well on his way t top seller, Fonseca's work is fresh and imaginative.  This book is worthy of your 'keeper'shelf.  Kudos to Fonseca and Happy Reading!

28 03.09.2009
GoodReads
R.M.

The two main characters are likable and I also liked the idea of involving the Amish in the story. I thought this worked well with linking the present with the past as well as creating a variation of perspective from a unique way of life. Perhaps we'll see more of this in another installment? The "Time Cavern" is an adventure mixed with riddle-solving scenarios that many kids of this age group will find appealing.

27 03.07.2009
Amazon
Gary V. Tenuta
Washington
Imaginative, Clever, Well-paced and Memorable!
Not only will young readers find themselves engrossed in a great mystery/adventure but Fonseca has seen to it that they will learn a lot along the way. The cool thing is how Fonseca manages to blend the "educational" elements of the story so seamlessly that it doesn't interrupt the flow of the tale being told. I must include this final thought: If I had read this book when I was 10 or 12 years old I guarantee it would be one that I would still remember today.
26 03.03.2009
GoodReads
Carole

It is a long time since I have read a book written specifically for children. I started this one with caution expecting it to be juvenile and perhaps a bit boring. Not a bit of it! I thoroughly enjoyed it. Truly, a good read. Now, I’ll pass it on to my ten-year-old granddaughter. I’m sure she will enjoy it just as much as I did.

25 02.17.2009
Amazon
CS

Discover the next big thing in young adult literature with "The Time Cavern"
Young adult literature is a very tricky trail to traverse. The rare greats - such as the Harry Potter series - can transcend its target audience. Todd A Fonseca's brilliant "The Time Cavern" does exactly that. It's a thrilling journey through time that will mesmerize adults as well as children.
"The Time Cavern" is an absolute page-turner and one of the best I've read in recent memory.

24 02.15.2009
Amazon
Lee Murphy
Reseda, CA

Really good!
I just finished reading Todd A. Fonseca's novel. I have to say I am really impressed. It is primarily a young adult novel, but quite clever and very imaginative. I am not going to give any spoliers, but I definitely recommend this fun book to anyone who might be curious, young adult, or plain old adult.
Enjoy it!

23 02.12.2009
Amazon
Debra A. Cooper
Minnesota
A wonderful book for all ages
The Time Cavern is a wonderful book for all ages, children to adults. It is rare to find a book that is so enjoyable for all. An amazing book front to back that held our interest throughout. We are anxiously awaiting for another book by Mr. Fonseca.
22 02.11.2009
Amazon
Sandy Nathan
California
Delightful, wholesome, and intelligent reading for young and not-so-young adults
Charming is the only word I can think of to describe this book. The Amish element, the two cute kids, their families, the old barn, and, of course, what they discover in the woods is a compelling blend. I'm looking forward to the sequel.
21 02.11.2009
GoodReads
Sandy

Delightful, wholesome, and intelligent reading for young and not-so-young adults. I remain charmed and delighted after finishing Todd Fonseca’s The Time Cavern. It’s a great read, and the ending is an amazing surprise. The book weaves its spell with no violence, monsters, explosions, strong language––and not a single vampire! I’d recommend it to all YA fans and their parents. I enjoyed it thoroughly.

20 02.09.2008
Amazon
Dee Marie
New York
Wisdom and Eternal Youth Collide
I highly recommend "The Time Cavern," for parents that are looking for an intellectual story that neither talks over the heads of its readers, or talks down to them. It is easy to tell from Todd Fonseca's tale, that he possesses the wisdom of the ancients, and the soul of eternal youth.
19 01.03.2009
GoodReads
Dee Marie

I highly recommend "The Time Cavern," for parents that are looking for an intellectual story that neither talks over the heads of its readers, or talks down to them. It is easy to tell from Todd Fonseca’s tale, that he possesses the wisdom of the ancients, and the soul of eternal youth.

18 01.03.2008
Amazon
Yale R. Jaffe
Darien, IL
Hardy Boys (Nancy Drew) Meet Indiana Jones!
If this book existed when my sons were young teenagers, we would have read The Time Cavern together. Parents and teachers can take this book in many directions. But here's my hope: This book is ripe for developing into a television series - Mr. Fonseca has simply scratched the surface. The novel leaves endless possibilities and more questions to be asked and solved. Disney Channel, are you listening? The Time Cavern was marvelously fun!
17 12.30.2008
Amazon
Atlanta, GA

Time Travel so Good I Almost Forgot to Bring the Helium
The Time Cavern is a concise, well-written, and endearing story. It's highly suitable for young adult readers: it was mature and clever, yet not overly complex. As an adult, I also enjoyed the book quite a bit -- it reminded me of the Encyclopedia Brown books I used to read when I was a kid, where the hero won the day through intellect and keen observation. 
In a nutshell: wonderful, creative, and inspiring!

16 12.26.2008
Amazon
ellen
Atlanta, GA
A timeless story
Todd A. Fonseca had written a dandy little time travel adventure. One hopes The Time Cavern is the foundation for many sequels. It would be easy for kids to get caught up in the mystery of a community that is so different from ours. Mr. Fonseca's book had been suggested for the younger folks, and it certainly is kid friendly, teen friendly, but adults, PLEASE read this book - it is a pleasure and the principle of the time travel process is a fascinating one, that will entertain all.
I look forward to the next adventure of Aaron and Jake...and company.
15 12.22.2008
Amazon
L.C. Evans
North Carolina

Time Travel In Amish Country
Todd Fonseca's The Time Cavern is an enjoyable read for adults as well as for children.
This was a fun book to read, and I thoroughly enjoyed the believable characters and the well-done descriptions of the setting.

14 11.08.2008
Amazon
J.R. Reardon 
Washington, DC

A thrilling read!
The Time Cavern is definitely an enjoyable page-turning read and could easily be turned into a series of books. It incorporates the various degrees of friendship and trust, and makes us able to appreciate what we learned in school...ie: history, the Amish culture, farming corn, constellations, and uncovering mysteries through the wonders of science. I could go on but I don't want to spoil it! Enjoy!!!

13 11.02.2008
GoodReads
Dennis Batchelder

pleasant, informative, fun..."The Time Cavern" ends with the promise of future adventures of Aaron and Jake, and I'm looking forward to traveling through time with them again.

12 11.02.2008
GoodReads
J.R. Reardon
Todd A. Fonseca's "The Time Cavern" is a fantastic read for children and adults alike. Todd has a knack for making the characters realistic and likeable, whether they be Aaron's parents or the main characters, 10 year old friends Aaron and Jake. I laughed many times while reading the book at the way Todd skillfully phrased certain things.
11 11.02.2008
Amazon
S. Hague
Great book for all ages!
The Time Cavern is a fun, easy to read story that is geared towards tweeners and young adults. My 10 year old daughter and my wife both read the book and really enjoyed it. I was a little concerned that my daughter might find it too technical or "boyish" but that didn't happen at all. She loved it. So don't let the educational or technical aspects of this story scare you off. If my daughter really liked it, all kids (and adults) will like it. We are looking forward to Aaron and Jake's next adventure.
10 10.25.2008
Amazon
Lila L. Pinord
Port Angeles, WA
A very good read!
The Time Cavern is a wonderful book whether you are a child, a tween, or an adult. The author, Todd Fonseca really knows how to lead us to clues slowly to hold our interest all through the book. And when the kids find and enter the hidden cavern--well, readers will just have to discover for themselves--don't wish to spoil it for them! All in all, a very good read!
9 10.18.2008
Amazon
Leann Marshall
Charlotte, NC

Readers Reviews
Although The Time Cavern claims to be for young people ages nine through twelve, I've got to say as an adult I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it. From the first few pages I was pulled into the fun and mystery and felt like a kid again myself. Todd Fonseca's writing was thoroughly researched; the story was intriguing and informative; the characters were multi-dimensional and real and fun to be with.

8 10.16.2008
Amazon
Dennis Batchelder  Bellevue, WA

pleasant, informative, fun
Fonseca tells the story mostly from Aaron's point of view. His story hits on some YA-friendly topics: moving to a new city, making new friends, dealing with younger brothers, asking for independence, making mistakes, and exploration. Lots of exploration, which is good, because the reader ends up learning a bit about corn combines, the Internet, the Amish way of life, ultraviolet lights, and railroad tracks. Lots of other stuff too, which should make the book interesting to 10 year old boys.
"The Time Cavern" ends with the promise of future adventures of Aaron and Jake, and I'm looking forward to traveling through time with them again.

7 09.05.2008
Amazon
The Closer
Adventure and Friendship Converge Over Time
The Time Cavern is an engrossing, fast-read novel aimed at tweens but enjoyable by all ages. As an adult, I have read the book and passed it along to my kids, who in turn passed it along to their friends! The Time Cavern is a wonderful "sub-tree-anean" adventure that offers something for everyone!
6 08.30.2008
Amazon
Donna J. Fonseca
South Bend, IN
An Amish Great
This is a very interesting book for grade school children and also for young adults. I think that the Amish people would love having this book "The Time Cavern" in their library. Especially for their children to read. I thought it was very well written.
5 08.24.2008
Amazon
arizonareader
Arizonia
Great Sci Fi for teens or adults
Mr. Fonseca throws in a LOT of information about different cultures, (Amish), science (gasses and what they do) responsibility, even astronomy, weaving it all seamlessly into an interesting story that should hold the interest of any young science fiction fan. And thanks to the great ending, he'll be looking forward to more adventures with Aaron and Jake. Looking forward to the next installment myself...
4 08.21.2008
Amazon
The Compulsive Reader
Big Rapids, MI
The Compulsive Reader's Reviews
The Time Cavern is a great adventure for younger readers, with a unique setting that is at once interesting and educational. Aaron is a well developed and lively character...many kids will be able to relate to his curiosity and his home life.
3 08.13.2008
Amazon
Sondi Miller

The Time Cavern
The Time Cavern by Todd A. Fonseca was a well written informative book for both adults and teens. The wonderful world of The Time Cavern creates a step back in time for adults and a whole new world to discover for teens.
The Time Cavern is a great adventure for all.

2 07.17.2008
Amazon
libray pal 
Great book for kids and adults!
I really enjoyed the Time Cavern! I thought the characters came to life and I felt like I was in the story myself. I liked the way the author incorporated imagination of a 10 year old as well as family values of today.
1 06.25.2008
Amazon
Shannon L. Yarbrough

The Time Cavern is a Journey You Won't Soon Forget!
Fonseca has a talent for appealing to a young audience in the use of his subject matter....independence, moving to a new home, making friends, being afraid, exploration, and the use of the imagination, etc. Outside of the young boy's adventures the author also uses a nice mix of dialog to keep his story moving, evenly exposing the reader to other characters including Aaron's parents