Leslie Ann Moore

Leslie Ann Moore was born in Los Angeles, California at the tail-end of the baby boom. From an early age, her parents exposed her to the beauty and wonder of art, music, and literature. She learned to read before she started school, and books were her constant companions.

For as long as she can remember, Leslie Ann's been a storyteller. As a child, she made up tales to entertain family, friends and anyone else who'd listen! At night, she'd lie in bed, while elaborate 'movies' screened in her head, complete with distinct characters, complex dialogue, and action sequences. She didn't think this strange; it was just something she did to entertain herself.

She started reading science fiction in middle school. The Martian Chronicles, The Foundation Trilogy, Rendevouz With Rama, the works of Andre Norton; Leslie Ann loved the classics and stuck pretty much to hard sci fi, until one day, a friend showed her a book called 'The Hobbit'.

The works of J.R.R. Tolkein introduced her to the world of fantasy literature, and her own stories began to change. 



The Griffin's Daughter Trilogy is available in two versions: The Original and a Young Adult (in which the sexually explict scenes were removed)

Awards & Recognition 

  • 2008 IBPA Benjamin Franklin Award forBest New Fiction
Leslie's Writing
Griffin's Daughter | Griffin's Shadow |
Griffin's Destiny

From Leslie:
From an early age, my parents exposed me to the beauty and wonder of art, music, and literature. I learned to read before starting school, and books were my constant companions. While practical considerations led me to a career in veterinary medicine I never gave up my dream of becoming a full-time writer. In 2000, I attended the Los Angeles Times Festival Of Books and met one of my favorite authors, Terry Brooks. Mr. Brooks talked about the writer's life, and how he'd transitioned from a career in the law to one as a professional writer. He said "Don't ever give up. Keep writing, no matter what." Those words changed my life. I returned home and that very night, began the outline of what would eventually become the 'Griffin's Daughter' Trilogy.